Saracens not only retained rugby European Champions Cup at Murrayfield, but set a new record on 18 matches unbeaten in the competition. The last defeat was away to Clermont – the team they beat in this final – 13-9 on 18th April 2015. Clermont gave Saracens a hard battle, but the holders always had their noses in front and Alex Goode’s late try ended the French fightback. The first Saracens try came from Chris Ashton who set a new record of 27 tries in the competition. Owen Farrell was name the Euro Player of the Year, the fifth consecutive year it has gone to an Englishman. Farrell’s teammate Maro Itoje won it last year


Picture Credits: Lynne Cameron


Chris Ashton “dives” over for his record-breaking try

and celebrates in similar fashion

Maro Itoje opn the charge for Saracens.